Pietermaritzburg Cluster of Theological Institutions
The Pietermaritzburg Cluster of Theological Institutions was founded in March 1990. St Joseph’s Theological Institute was one of the three original members, together with the School of Theology of the then University of Natal (now the School of Religion, Philosophy and Classics of the University of KwaZulu-Natal) and the Federal Theological Seminary of Southern Africa (which closed its doors in 1993).

The Evangelical Seminary of Southern Africa (ESSA), the Lutheran Theological Institute (LTI) and the Seth Mokitimi Methodist Seminary (SMMS) are the other current members.

The Cluster maximises the resources of the member institutions and provides many opportunities for ecumenical exchange among students and staff.

Cluster Council
The Cluster Council, chaired by a head of one of the Cluster partners, plans and makes decisions for the Cluster. Each Cluster institution has two representatives on the Council.

Courses and Programmes
Students can take courses at other Cluster institutions without additional fees. Staff offer courses and team teach at Cluster partners. St Joseph’s post-graduate programme is run in collaboration with the School of Religion and Theology of UKZN.

Library Resources
The libraries of the three institutions are linked in one network so that students and staff can borrow books and other materials easily. For more information see the SJTI Library staff.

Cluster Publications
Cluster Publications is a non-profit publishing enterprise of the Cluster. It produces books in theology which are contextual and relevant to Southern Africa. Its offices are at ESSA on Pine St in Pietermaritzburg. Raymond Mwangala OMI and Sue Rakoczy IHM are St Joseph’s representatives on the Cluster Publications Committee.

Cluster Activities

The Cluster academic year opens with the Cluster Celebration.
Cluster worship services are held twice each year.
Cluster Subject Committees of staff members meet on an ongoing basis.
The Cluster Staff Day is held in early June.
Cluster Sports Day is held in August.
The Cluster Gender Committee, composed of members of the Gender Committees of each institution, works to raise gender awareness.

Sue Rakoczy IHM